How long can an illusion last?

A few days ago, a friend suggested I have lunch at Yumcious in De Waterkant in Cape Town. They recommended the “lovely buffet” and infinite choice available. The cafe/restaurant was in a both quaint and hip part of town, and I thought I would try it out.

At first glance it all seemed quite pretty…white, lovely flower and cake arrangements in the centre, buzzing with hungry customers…

I went to look at the buffet..unfortunately, by 13.00 o’clock most dishes were near empty and I was told there would be no replenishments. The food looked great, but when I tucked into it all, it was actually very simple and, quite frankly, lacked taste. The manageress/ owner, not quite sure, was not the friendliest of personalities either and the price was overly expensive.

Bottom line. The decor was inexpensive but the overall effect was quite nice if you are not one for details. The food was basic and lacked oomph but when placed in large modern white bowls could look impressive. Were all these people fooled?

How long can cafes, restaurants, shops, hotels, and other establishments fool people into paying a premium for something that might look impressive but really does not deliver on quality….

I hope not too long.

img_7376.jpg

Categories: MKB

Leave a comment